How to sync only selected folders on a computer to Google Drive

Along with the launch of its cloud-based Drive service, Google has also released the Google Drive client app for Windows, Mac OS X, and Android operating systems. As everyone knows, the service currently offers 5GB of free storage.

The Google Drive client for Windows includes an interesting feature that allows you to synchronize only the selected folders on your PC. Simply put, you can only sync what you want with a PC. For example, let's say you have four folders in your Google Drive account. Three folders contain music and family photos. The other folder is your work files, and you don't want to sync that folder with your family's computer.

In this case, you can change the default sync preferences to sync only three folders containing family photos and music and exclude the workbook from syncing with the family PC. Follow the instructions below to change the default sync settings in Google Drive to only sync selected folders.

Method 1: Use this method if you haven't yet installed Google Drive on your computer.

Step 1: Download the Google Drive configuration, run the configuration file and complete the installation.

Step 2: At the end of the installation, you will see the request to enter your login credentials. Enter the required credentials and click the Next button.

Step 3: When the following dialog box appears, click Advanced settings to open the Advanced Settings dialog. Here, look at the file Only sync some folders on this computer option and then select the folders you want to sync with this computer.



Synchronize selected folders in Google Drive

Step 4:Click the Start Synchronization button. That's all!

Method 2: Follow this method if you have already installed Google Drive and set up your account on your PC and now you just want to sync some folders.

Step 1: Launch the Google Drive app if it's not already running. Right-click the Google Drive icon in the system tray and select Preferences.


Synchronize selected folders in Google Drive

Step 2: In the Preferences dialog, select the file Only sync some folders on this computer option. Then select the folders you want to sync with the computer running the Google Drive client.


Synchronization with Google Drive

Step 3: Finally, click Apply the changes button. Are you done! Google Drive will only sync selected folders on your computer.

Note that folders already synced with this folder will be deleted after you choose to keep only certain folders synced with your account.

Unfortunately, this feature for changing default sync settings is not available in the Microsoft SkyDrive client for Windows.

Rate this post

If you want to know other articles similar to How to sync only selected folders on a computer to Google Drive you can visit the category Tutorials.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Go up Change privacy settings